Brunch at Commune

Written by:

I’ve always thought it was a shame that most restaurants only serve brunch on the weekends. I love breakfasty foods, but can’t always get to them before the lunch service begins.

Which is why I was pleasantly surprised when I discovered Commune, a great downtown that serves brunch 7 days/week.

Tagline billed across the building “Those who eat together, stay together.”

DSC_0006b DSC_0005d DSC_0008b

They have a simple, modern aesthetic. There are booths lined against the wall, but other than that there isn’t much for private seating.

DSC_0009b

I wanted to try their vanilla bean latte. It was good, but I couldn’t really taste the vanilla bean. Was pretty much just a plain latte.

DSC_0015b DSC_0020b

They also have these really charming old school cola bottles. I actually really enjoyed the taste; not as sweet as your average coke, and less bite. Sometimes I feel like pepsi is burning off the lining at the back of my throat.

DSC_0030c

For the main course, my friend ordered the bacon & cheddar omelette served with roasted potatoes, fresh fruit and multi-grain toast. He enjoyed the omelette, but the toast was a bit soggy.

DSC_0034b

This is the tuna melt with split pea soup, made with aged white cheddar, tomato, cheese & herb. He said it was very tasty, with nicely dressed tuna and great creamy texture for the soup.

DSC_0039b

I decided to go with the pulled pork eggs benedict: topped with beurre noisette hollandaise served with fruit and roasted potatoes. This was very delicious. The pork was well flavored and tender, going great with the eggs. The eggs themselves could have stood to be a little less cooked though (as I like to have the yolk still a bit runny in my bennys).

Overall, we enjoyed the experience as it was pretty decent eats with a nice atmosphere.

Commune Cafe on Urbanspoon

9 responses to “Brunch at Commune”

  1. kerbey Avatar
    kerbey

    but do they serve migas?

    Like

    1. lucyloohoo Avatar
      lucyloohoo

      I’m not sure, but don’t think so… I don’t remember seeing it on the menu.

      Like

  2. clutchingtoclouds Avatar
    clutchingtoclouds

    This looks so yummy I am totally jealous.
    And now im hungry.
    Your outfit is gorgeous, as always :D

    -Holly x

    Like

    1. lucyloohoo Avatar
      lucyloohoo

      Thanks babe!

      Like

  3. thebuttonupblog Avatar
    thebuttonupblog

    Yummy!!

    Like

  4. Chanele Avatar
    Chanele

    Why does your food always look so delicious. It never fails to make my mouth water. Loving your photos as usua;l and the top you’re wearing is super hot.

    Like

    1. lucyloohoo Avatar
      lucyloohoo

      Shmanx :) I’m a foodie at heart hah so I am always on the lookout for delicious restaurants!

      Like

  5. REIGNXCO Avatar
    REIGNXCO

    The photos from your brunch literally just got me off my laptop and into the car for brunch lol, great photos!

    Like

    1. lucyloohoo Avatar
      lucyloohoo

      Hah that’s great! Thanks :)

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.